Portrait

Karlheinz Essl

Music in the SCHÖMER-HAUS

2012

german


When the Schömer-Haus was opened in 1987, nobody would have guessed that this office and exhibition building would one day become a prominent venue for unusual concerts. Soon after the official opening ceremony, Claudio Abbado visited this place and was so impressed by the architecture and its acoustics that he implored my father to make the house available for new music. Because in contrast to traditional concert halls, with their 19th century sound and space aesthetics, the Schömer-Haus is particularly suited for unconventional forms of presentation of contemporary music, which is increasingly experimenting with the possibilities of space.


SCHÖMER-HAUS © 2012 by Pez Hejduk

The central hall of the SCHÖMER-HAUS
Photo: Pez Hejduk


An unconventional concert hall

The Schömer-Haus, however, is anything but a conventional concert hall. There is neither a stage nor fixed seating here; the acoustics contradict all common norms and are reminiscent of a Gothic cathedral. However, the open, three-story hall with the galleries around it makes it possible to position musicians and sound sources around the audience at various heights. In this way music can be staged as a moved and moving sound event in space, as was attempted in San Marco in Venice as early as the 16th century by Andrea and Giovanni Gabrieli. Here, too, an unorthodox architectural arrangement with two opposite galleries became the starting point for compositional experiments. For the first time in musical history “surround sound” was consciously employed.


Commissions

In order to explore the unusual sound space, since 1992 we have given composition commissions to internationally established composers, with the condition of writing a piece specially for the architecture and acoustics of the Schömer-Haus. Twenty works have so far been produced, among others by Friedrich Cerha, Roman Haubenstock-Ramati, Isabel Mundry, Richard Barrett, Pascal Dusapin, Jennifer Walshe, Gerd Kühr, Mark Applebaum and Alessandro Melchiorre. The premières of the commissioned works have always taken place in the context of “Wien modern” and are a fixed component of this important international music festival conceived by Claudio Abbado.

This year the commission went to the Argentinian composer Marcelo Toledo, who in Luminous Emptiness staged the Schömer-Haus as a stellar sound space: constellations of the night sky serve as the starting point of a composition in which not just instruments but also the architectural elements of the Schömer-Haus, such as the barred stairways and the wooden handrails of the galleries are brought to life by musicians from the Klangforum Wien.


Luminous Emptiness © 2012 by Marcelo Toledo

Score excerpt from Luminous Emptiness by Marcelo Toledo
© 2012 by Marcelo Toledo


An extremely impressive adaptation of the Schömer-Haus as a three-dimensional sound space came from the pen of the Belgian composer Serge Verstockt,, who in 2006, together with the architect Werner Vandermeersch, created the kinetic sound installation Voder. It consisted of four propeller-driven loudspeakers that rotated over the heads of the audience like little helicopters on wires. A computer software on the floor set the loudspeakers – and thereby also the sounds – moving, and created a chaotic, whirring soundscape.

Another highlight came from the Irish composer Jennifer Walshe, who has made a name for herself as an artistic personality full of bizarre fantasy. Her 2007 work My Extensive Relationship with Mr. Steven Patrick M. transformed the Schömer-Haus into a theatre. Cassette recorders dangled from the ceiling and the lifts were worked by musicians who functioned as liftboys. Apart from this, the cage-like stairway and the surrounding galleries were used as sound sources and staged as action spaces.


Ensemble für Intuitive Musik © 2012 by Karlheinz Essl

The Ensemble für intuitive Musik (Weimar) plays works by Karlheinz Stockhausen
© 2009 by Karlheinz Essl


Ancient Music

Alongside the annual “Wien Modern” concerts, the three other concerts dedicate themselves primarily to new compositions and current developments that are interpreted by top-class ensembles and musicians. In addition there are also regular concerts with ancient music, for which the cathedral-like acoustics of the house are particularly suited. Especially impressive were the evenings with the Clemencic Consort and the vocal ensemble NOVA, with rarely heard music from Perontin to Dunstable, or a concert by the Arnold Schönberg Choir in which, alongside works by Giacinto Scelsi and Luigi Nono, double-choir motets by Heinrich Schütz were also sung. The surrounding galleries of the Schömer-Haus gave this music a particularly three-dimensional form.


J. S. Bach / Karlheinz Essl: Gold.Berg.Werk
SCHÖMER-HAUS, 4 Dec 2011


Concerts at the Essl Museum

With the establishment of the Essl Museums in 1999 a further house of music opened its doors. Monthly concerts, which, however, have very different orientations, take place in the various galleries and exhibition rooms. If in the Schömer-Haus it is primarily composed music that is interpreted by established ensembles, the music programme of the Essl Museum is dedicated to boundary-crossing, ephemera and the unpredictable. Electronic music in all its colourful diversity, performances, installations, multimedia and improvisation play an important role here and create a multifaceted terrain that provokes curiosity and provides for surprises. A binding annual motto to which the individual projects relate serves as a programmatic peg. Themes such as NEAR AND FAR, SOUND.RUSH, BACK AND FORTH, UTOPIES, CROSS THE BORDER or OUT OF THE BLUE provide the content or associative framework for which targeted musicians and composers are invited to develop their own projects.


Eva Reiter im Essl Museum

Solorecital Eva Reiter im Essl Museum
© 2007 by Peter Kuffner


The aesthetic opening that was triggered by the concert series in the Essl Museum had effects on the programme of the Schömer-Haus. The concert format, which dominated the first two decades, is today increasingly accompanied by the staging of unconventional mixed forms in which music is combined with video projections, sound installations and performances, and not just reproducible works but also open processes with uncertain outcomes. Thus the music programme of the two houses reflects the constantly shifting artistic, social and political changes. I am pleased that our audience follows these developments with interest and enthusiasm.


in: DAS SCHÖMER-HAUS, ed. by Andreas Hoffer and Eva Köhler
Edition Sammlung Essl: Klosterneuburg 2012, p. 153.



Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts


Updated: 9 Jul 2016

Portrait

Karlheinz Essl

Musik im SCHÖMER-HAUS

2012

english


Als das SCHÖMER-HAUS 1987 eröffnet wurde, ahnte niemand, dass dieses Büro- und Ausstellungsgebäude einmal ein prominenter Veranstaltungsort für ungewöhnliche Konzerte werden sollte. Bald nach der feierlichen Einweihung besuchte Claudio Abbado diesen Ort und war von der Architektur und seiner Akustik so beeindruckt, dass er meinen Vater beschwor, das Haus der Neuen Musik zur Verfügung zu stellen. Denn im Unterschied zu traditionellen Konzertsälen, mit ihrer aus dem 19. Jahrhundert stammenden Klang- und Raumästhetik, eignet sich das SCHÖMER-HAUS besonders für unkonventionelle Präsentationsformen zeitgenössischer Musik, bei denen immer mehr mit den Möglichkeiten des Raumes experimentiert wird.


SCHÖMER-HAUS © 2012 by Pez Hejduk

Die zentrale Halle des SCHÖMER-HAUSES
Foto: Pez Hejduk


Ein unkonventioneller Konzertsaal

Das SCHÖMER-HAUS ist aber alles andere als ein konventioneller Konzertsaal. Es gibt hier weder Bühne noch fixe Bestuhlung; die Akustik widerspricht allen gängigen Normen und erinnert eher an die einer gotischen Kathedrale. Die offene, dreigeschossige Halle mit den umlaufenden Galerien erlaubt es jedoch, MusikerInnen und Klangquellen rund um das Publikum in verschiedenen Höhenstaffelungen zu positionieren. Damit lässt sich Musik als bewegtes und bewegendes Klangereignis im Raum inszenieren, wie dies bereits im 16. Jahrhundert in San Marco in Venedig durch Andrea und Giovanni Gabrieli versucht wurde. Auch hier wurde eine unorthodoxe architektonische Disposition mit zwei gegenüberliegenden Emporen zum Ausgangspunkt kompositorischer Experimente; erstmals in der Musikgeschichte wurde hier bewusst "Surround-Sound" eingesetzt.


Kompositionsaufträge

Um das Potential dieses ungewöhnlichen Klangraumes auszuloten, vergeben wir seit 1992 Kompositionsaufträge an international arrivierte KomponistInnen mit der Auflage, ein Stück speziell für die Architektur und die Akustik des SCHÖMER-HAUSes zu schreiben. 20 verschiedene Werke sind bislang dafür entstanden, u.a. von Friedrich Cerha, Roman Haubenstock-Ramati, Isabel Mundry, Richard Barrett, Pascal Dusapin, Jennifer Walshe, Gerd Kühr, Mark Applebaum und Alessandro Melchiorre. Die Uraufführungen der Auftragswerke finden seit jeher im Rahmen von "Wien modern" statt und sind fixer Bestandteil dieses bedeutenden, von Claudio Abbado konzipierten internationalen Musikfestivals.

Dieses Jahr erging der Auftrag an den argentinischen Komponisten Marcelo Toledo, der in Luminous Emptiness das SCHÖMER-HAUS als stellaren Klangraum inszeniert: Konstellationen des Sternenhimmels dienen als Ausgangspunkt einer Komposition, in der nicht nur Instrumente, sondern auch die architektonischen Elemente des SCHÖMER-HAUSes wie die vergitterte Stiege und die hölzernen Handläufe der Galerien von den MusikerInnen des Klangforums Wien zum Klingen gebracht werden.


Luminous Emptiness © 2012 by Marcelo Toledo

Ausschnitt aus Luminous Emptiness von Marcelo Toledo
© 2012 by Marcelo Toledo


Eine äußerst beeindruckende Adaption des SCHÖMER-HAUSes als dreidimensionaler Klangraum entstammt der Feder des belgischen Komponisten Serge Verstockt, der gemeinsam mit dem Architekten Werner Vandermeersch 2006 die kinetische Klanginstallation Voder schuf. Sie bestand aus vier Lautsprechern mit Propellerantrieb, die wie kleine Helikopter an Drahtseilen über den Köpfen des Publikums rotierten. Ein Computerprogramm auf dem Boden setzte die Lautsprecher – und somit auch die Klänge – in Bewegung und erzeugte eine chaotische, flirrende Klanglandschaft.

Ein weiteres Highlight stammt von der irischen Komponistin Jennifer Walshe, die sich als Künstlerpersönlichkeit voll skurriler Fantasie einen Namen gemacht hat. Ihr 2007 geschaffenes Werk My Extensive Relationship with Mr. Steven Patrick M. verwandelte das SCHÖMER-HAUS in einen Theaterraum. Von der Decke baumelten Kassettenrekorder und die Aufzüge wurden von Musikern bedient, die als Liftboys fungierten. Ausserdem wurden das käfigartige Stiegenhaus und die umlaufenden Galerien als Klangkörper benutzt und als Aktionsräume in Szene gesetzt.


Ensemble für Intuitive Musik © 2012 by Karlheinz Essl

Das Ensemble für intuitive Musik (Weimar) spielt Werke von Karlheinz Stockhausen
© 2009 by Karlheinz Essl


Alte Musik

Neben den jährlich stattfindenden "Wien modern"-Konzerten widmen sich die drei anderen Konzerte vor allem neuen Kompositionen sowie aktuellen Entwicklungen, die von hochkarätigen Ensembles und MusikerInnen interpretiert werden. Zusätzlich gibt es immer wieder auch Konzerte mit Alter Musik, wofür sich die kathedralartige Akustik des Hauses besonders gut eignet. Besonders eindrucksvoll waren Abende mit dem Clemencic Consort und dem Vokalensemble NOVA mit selten gehörter Musik von Perotin bis Dunstable; oder ein Konzert des Arnold Schönberg Chores, in dem neben Werken von Giacinto Scelsi und Luigi Nono auch doppelchörige Motetten von Heinrich Schütz gesungen wurden. Die umlaufenden Galerien des SCHÖMER-HAUSES brachten diese Musik besonders plastisch zur Geltung.


J. S. Bach / Karlheinz Essl: Gold.Berg.Werk
SCHÖMER-HAUS, 4 Dec 2011


Konzerte im Essl Museum

Mit der Errichtung des Essl Museums öffnete 1999 ein weiteres Haus der Musik seine Pforten. In den verschiedenen Galerien und Ausstellungsräumen finden monatlich Konzerte statt, die jedoch ganz unterschiedliche Ausrichtungen haben. Wird im SCHÖMER-HAUS vorwiegend komponierte Musik von etablierten Ensembles interpretiert, so widmet sich das Musikprogramm des Essl Museums der Grenzüberschreitung, dem Ephemeren und dem Unvorhersehbaren. Elektronische Musik in ihrer ganzen bunten Vielfalt, Performances, Installationen, Multimedia und Improvisation spielen hier eine wichtige Rolle und schaffen ein vielfältiges Terrain, das neugierig macht und für Überraschungen sorgt. Als programmatische Klammer fungiert ein verbindliches Jahresmotto, auf das sich die einzelnen Projekte beziehen. Themen wie NÄHE UND FERNE, KLANG.RAUSCH, BACK AND FORTH, UTOPIEN, CROSS THE BORDER oder OUT OF THE BLUE geben einen inhaltlichen bzw. assoziativen Rahmen vor, für den gezielt MusikerInnen, KomponistInnen und KünstlerInnen eingeladen werden, eigenständige Projekte zu entwickeln.


Eva Reiter im Essl Museum

Solorecital Eva Reiter im Essl Museum
© 2007 by Peter Kuffner


Die ästhetische Öffnung, die durch die Konzertreihe im Essl Museum ausgelöst wurde, zeigt Auswirkungen auf die Programmgestaltung des SCHÖMER-HAUSes. Zum Format des Konzertes, das die ersten beiden Jahrzehnte dominierte, gesellen sich heute vermehrt unkonventionelle Mischformen, in denen Musik mit Videoprojektionen, Klanginstallationen und Performances kombiniert wird und nicht nur reproduzierbare Werke, sondern auch offene Prozesse mit ungewissem Ausgang in Szene gesetzt werden. So reflektiert das Musikprogramm der beiden Häuser die sich ständig verändernden künstlerischen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Veränderungen. Ich freue mich, dass unser Publikum diese Entwicklungen mit Interesse und Begeisterung begleitet.


in: DAS SCHÖMER-HAUS, ed. by Andreas Hoffer and Eva Köhler
Edition Sammlung Essl: Klosterneuburg 2012, S. 151-152.



Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts


Updated: 9 Jul 2016