Doris Weberberger

Portrait Karlheinz Essl

2012


Deutsche Version

It has hardly ever been so easy to secure music and thus repeatedly play the same material the same way. These possibilities of contemporary music reproduction are exactly what Karlheinz Essl defies. This inherent feature demonstrated ever so often in his improvisational performances is also used in his compositions, which is quite contrary to the conventional definition of composing. In this sense, Essl sets his works in a dialogue with tradition, but without letting his works appear traditional. For example, in his Lexikon-Sonate, for which he has been algorithmically formalizing musical gestures from the works of major composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Wolfgang A. Mozart, Schoenberg, Boulez and Stockhausen since 1992.


Karlheinz Essl performing Lexikon-Sonate on a Bösendorfer CEUS computer piano
12 Dec 2008, Vienna (Bösendorfer-Saal)


The changeable parameters are transmitted through random structure generators on a self-playing piano and create a piece that takes a different shape at every performance. Inspired by the formalization of typical musical gestures, he widened his intention to the so-called Real Time Composition Library, which allows him, as well as other composers, to use these gestures in other compositional contexts. Thus, these are meta-instruments with which he creates meta-compositions - music about music, without being literally quoted.

One of these meta-compositions is the cycle Sequitur, which now includes more than a dozen others parts for trumpet, flute and cello as well as electric guitar, accordion and toy piano. The concept refers to the sequence of Luciano Berio and shares a common exploration of the technical possibilities of playing solo instruments. To extend the possibilities even more, Essl added a computer program that reproduces and electronically alters what the performer played, which allows him to interact with the music played before.


Mike Svoboda and Karlheinz Essl performing Sequitur X
ZKM Karlsruhe, 27 Nov 2010


Apart from these small compositions, Essl's creative work also includes extensive chamber music and orchestral compositions. He learned the necessary skills when studying composition with Friedrich Cerha (for whom he realized the electronic part in Cerha’s Spiegel III) and studying electro-acoustic music with Dieter Kaufmann.

The trained double bass player also likes perform on stage himself, for instance when he performs his Lexikon-Sonate or his free improvisations. Although he doesn’t perform too often with his originally learned instrument, but rather performs with electronic devices and, occasionally, with a grooved part of a tree trunk, which he sets in vibration just like a percussion instrument and electronically changes it in real time. For this matter he also developed a computer program (called m@ze°2) between 1998 and 2010, that enables him to adjust various parameters, depending on the performance situation and personal preferences.


Karlheinz Essl performing non Sequitur
Atelier Feilacher/Kummer, 26 Jun 2010


Karlheinz Essl already discovered his joy of experimention in his youth at piano lessons, and his subsequent contact with Jazz surely also accommodated this passion. Perhaps that is where the skeptical view on the unchangeable comes from. He regularly organizes "blind dates", which are always unrepeatable listening events of the improvisational interaction between various musicians.


OUT OF THE BLUE: Agnes Heginger (vocals), Karlheinz Essl (electronics)
Walzengravieranstalt Guntramskirchen, 20 May 2011


In addition to composing and playing music, Karlheinz Essl also spreads his conception of music in other forms, such as teaching music at the University of Music in Vienna and curating concert series in the Essl Museum.


in: MUSIC AUSTRIA (Vienna, 9 Jan 2012)



Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts


Updated: 6 Jun 2012

Doris Weberberger

Porträt: Karlheinz Essl


Portrait KHE

Foto: © 2011 by Reinhard Mayr
  English version

Wohl kaum je war es so einfach, Musik zu fixieren und somit das gleiche Material wiederholte Male auf gleiche Weise abzuspielen. Genau diesen Möglichkeiten zeitgenössischer Musikreproduktion widersetzt sich Karlheinz Essl. Was bei improvisatorischen Performances als inhärentes Merkmal zu verbuchen ist, zeigt sich im Gegensatz zum konventionellen Werkbegriff auch in seinen Kompositionen. Zugleich stellt Essl sein Schaffen in einen Dialog mit der Tradition, ohne dass seine Werke dabei selbst traditionell anmuten. So beispielsweise in seiner Lexikon-Sonate, für die er seit 1992 musikalische Gesten aus Werken bedeutender Komponisten von Johann Sebastian Bach über Wolfgang A. Mozart bis hin zu Schönberg, Boulez und Stockhausen algorithmisch formalisiert hat.

Die veränderbaren Parameter werden Zufalls- und Strukturgeneratoren durchlaufend auf ein selbstspielendes Klavier übertragen und erzeugen ein Stück, das bei jeder Aufführung eine andere Gestalt annimmt. Von der Formalisierung typischer musikalischer Gesten angeregt, erweiterte er sein Vorhaben zur sogenannten Real Time Composition Library, die es ihm selbst wie auch anderen Komponisten ermöglicht, sich dieser Gesten auch in anderen kompositorischen Zusammenhängen zu bedienen. So sind es Meta-Instrumente, mit denen er Meta-Kompositionen schafft – Musik über Musik, ohne dass diese wörtlich zitiert wird.

Eine Metakomposition ist auch der Zyklus Sequitur, der inzwischen mehr als ein Dutzend Teile u. a. für Trompete, Flöte und Cello wie auch für E-Gitarre, Akkordeon und Toy Piano umfasst. Das Konzept bezieht sich auf die Sequenze von Luciano Berio und hat mit diesen das Ausloten spieltechnischer Möglichkeiten solistisch eingesetzter Instrumente gemein. Diese Ausgangssituation erweitert Essl um ein Computerprogramm, welches das vom Interpreten Gespielte elektronisch verändert wiedergibt und es ihm ermöglicht, in Interaktion mit dem von ihm zuvor Gespielten zu treten.

Neben diesen klein besetzten Werken umfasst das Schaffen Essls auch umfangreichere Kammermusik- und Orchesterkompositionen. Sein dazu notwendiges Handwerk erlernte er beim Kompositionsstudium bei Friedrich Cerha, für dessen Spiegel III er den elektronischen Part realisierte; Elektroakustische Musik studierte er bei Dieter Kaufmann.

Auch selbst steht der ausgebildete Kontrabassist gerne auf der Bühne, wenn er etwa seine Lexikon-Sonate zur Aufführung bringt, und auch mit freien Improvisationen tritt er in Erscheinung. Zwar weniger mit den ursprünglich gelernten Instrument, sondern mit elektronischen Devices (wie seinem selbstentwickelten Computerinstrument m@ze°2) und gelegentlich auch mit einem mit Rillen versehenen Teil eines Baumstammes, den er ähnlich einem Schlaginstrument in Schwingung versetzt und das Gespielte in Echtzeit elektronisch verändert. Auch dazu erarbeitete er sich zwischen 1998 und 2011 ein Computerprogramm, das es ihm ermöglicht, je nach Aufführungssituation und persönlichen Vorlieben diverse Parameter einzustellen.

Die Freude am Spiel aus dem Moment heraus gewann er bereits in seiner Jugend beim Klavierunterricht; und auch seine spätere Berührung mit dem Jazz ist dieser Leidenschaft entgegengekommen. Vielleicht mag daher auch die Skepsis vor allem Unveränderlichen liegen. Regelmäßig veranstaltet er „Blind Dates“, bei denen jedes Mal in der improvisatorischen Interaktion der Musiker unwiederholbare Ereignisse zu Gehör kommen.

Neben dem Komponieren und Musizieren gibt Essl seine Vorstellung von Musik aber auch in anderer Form weiter, denn inzwischen unterrichtet er selbst etwa an der Wiener Musikuniversität und kuratiert Konzertreihen im Schömerhaus und Essl Museum.


in: MUSIC AUSTRIA (Vienna, 17 Jan 2012)



Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts


Updated: 9 Jul 2016