Karlheinz Essl

Portrait KHE

Sequitur IIIb

for viola and live-electronics

Dedicated to Judith Reiter

Score | Software | Performances | Reviews


Sequitur is a series of 14 compositions for various solo instruments and live-electronics which I started in 2008. Somehow it can be seen as a reference to Berio’s famous “Sequenze” cycle of solo pieces which focus on specific playing techniques of the respective instrument. The cycle comprises 14 different pieces including orchestral instruments like flute and violin, but also for voice and more exotic ones such as electric guitar, toy piano and kalimba.

All Sequitur compositions use a software written in MaxMSP which creates an electronic accompaniment from the instrument’s live input; the player is confronted with his own playing, and this creates a situation like moving in a house of mirrors where the identities become blurred. Each piece can be performed by the player alone who just has to press a key on the computer keyboard whenever this is indicated in the score. The software generates a complex canon on the fly, the temporal structure and density of which being controlled by random operations. This yields different results every time the piece is performed. Although following a precisely notated score, there is always a good portion of surprise for the musician which emphasizes his awareness and attentiveness.

Sequitur IIIb for viola and live-electronics, performed by Rafał Zalech during the dance performance Sequitur_caleidoscopia ext.
Rio nell'Elba (I), 20 Sep 2019 @ Festival INTONAZIONE


The score of Sequitur IIIb can be downloaded for free. Please note that the music is protected by copyright.

Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts

Updated: 30 May 2021