Karlheinz Essl

Portrait KHE

Sequitur VII

for alto saxophone and live-electronics

Dedicated to Lars Mlekusch

Score | Software | Video | Performances | Reviews

Sequitur VII performed by Lars Mlekusch (sax) and Karlheinz Essl (electronics)
Studio kHz, 18 Aug 2009


Sequitur is a series of 14 compositions for various solo instruments and live-electronics written for outstanding soloists. Somehow it can be seen as a reference to Luciano Berio's famous Sequenze cycle of solo pieces which focus on specific playing techniques of the respective instrument. Essl's Sequitur cycle includes pieces for orchestral instruments like flute and violin, but also for voice, electric guitar, toy piano or kalimba.

All Sequitur compositions use a software written in MaxMSP which creates an electronic accompaniment from the instrument’s live input; the player is confronted with his own playing, and this creates a situation like moving in a house of mirrors where the identities becomes blurred.

The Sequitur software generates a complex canon on the fly, the temporal structure and density of which being controlled by random operations. This yields different results every time the piece is performed. Although following a precisely notated score, there is always a good portion of surprise for the musician which emphasizes his awareness and attentiveness.


The score of Sequitur VII can be downloaded for free. Please note that the music is protected by copyright.


Lars Mlekusch and Karlheinz Essl performing Sequitur VII
Demokratische Klänge? - Opening concert of the 12th GlobArt Academy
Pernegg, Parish Church (20 Aug 2009)

Video: © by Markus Wittmann / Sylvia Kummer

Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts

Updated: 30 May 2021